The move is in preparation for the general election slated for February 2019.

Photo for illustration:

The finalists include Suntud Sirianuntapiboon, environmental technology professor from the University of Technology Thonburi; Somchai Charnnarongkul, former Director of the Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives’ Cooperative Promotion Department; Ittiporn Boonpracong, former Director of the Foreign Ministry’s Department of Treaties and Legal Affairs; Peerasak Hinmuangkao, former Governor of Buri Ram province; and Tawatchai Terdphaothaidanh, former Governor of Sakaburi province.

According to the law, EC comprises seven members, two of them are chosen by the Supreme Court. Last week, the court elected Chatchai Chanpraisri and Pakorn Mahannop as its EC candidates.

The selection was a second attempt after the NLA turned down all of the finalist candidates proposed by the selection committee in February.

Source: VNA