Ground-based air defence forces counter the enemy's airstrike

Meanwhile, military units of the Western Military District of Russia, Armenia, Belarus, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Mongolia participate in the phase. Officers from Uzbekistan, Pakistan and Sri Lanka joined the phase's commanding group.

Russian President Vladimir Putin and Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu were present at the site.

The drill, comprising three phases, is being held in nine training grounds in Russia and five in Belarus, with the participation of about 200,000 soldiers, 80 aircraft and helicopters, more than 290 tanks, 240 canons, missile defense systems and mortars, and 15 military vessels, among others.

Source: VNA