Jonathan Hyong-Joon Kim, a director and producer from the Republic of Korea, is a member of the jury. 

Vietnam initiated the event and is also the first country to host the event, scheduled to be held on a rotation basis in each ASEAN member country, commencing with Vietnam.

Under the theme “Cinematography connects the ASEAN community”, the first event aims to honor the most outstanding films, film makers and artists from ASEAN member countries and to seek out and reward new talents in the field.

Accordingly, each member country could send only one best film made in 2016 and 2017 to compete for the awards. The entries with international-standard quality will be selected by countries’ state-level cinematography agencies and they will be judged by three well-known film producers and directors from the Republic of Korea, Hong Kong (China) and Poland.

As planned, the ASEAN Film Awards will be presented to the Best Film, the Best Director, Best Actor and Best Actress in a leading role. 

Translated by Tran Hoai