Under Decree No.7/2017/ND-CP dated January 25, 2017, citizens from 40 countries are eligible for e-visas under a pilot program.

Foreigners visiting Vietnam

The new decree, No.17/2019/ND-CP, on amendments and supplements to several articles of the Decree No.7 regulates that countries from 35 countries are eligible for the program, including Austria, Iceland, Belgium, Portugal, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Qatar, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Croatia, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Macedonia, Micronesia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, San Marino, Cyprus, Switzerland, China (applicable for Hong Kong and Macao passport holders and inapplicable for China’s e-passport holders), Vanuatu, Western Samoa, Serbia and Slovenia.

International border gates Tay Trang in the Northern mountainous province of Dien Bien, Na Meo in the Central province of Thanh Hoa, La Lay in the Central province of Quang Tri, Duong Dong port in the Southern province of Kien Giang and Chan May port in the Central province of Thua Thien-Hue will also allow immigration by e-visas.

Accordingly, a total of 16 border gates and nine ports in Vietnam will allow foreigners to enter the country with e-visas.

The new decree will take effect within two years, starting on February 1.

Source: VNA