Vietnam continues to support disarmament, especially nuclear disarmament, as well as the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons, said Vietnamese Foreign Minister Pham Binh Minh.

Minister Minh made the statement while co-chairing the Ministerial Meeting on the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in New York City, USA, on September 23.

The Vietnamese diplomat affirmed that Vietnam respects the significance of the CTBT and believes that the participation of all countries in the treaty will be a giant step towards nuclear disarmament.

Vietnam was among the first countries to sign the treaty in 1996, he said, adding that it will join efforts to promote the CTBT and other treaties on disarmament and nuclear non-proliferation, as well as those to ensure the rights of all nations to use nuclear energy for peaceful purposes and expand international cooperation in this field.

Mr. Minh hopes that, once in effect, the CTBT will help consolidate Vietnam’s mechanisms and efforts to promote a world without nuclear weapons.

The FM emphasized the great significance of international peace and security, which he said will create favourable conditions for disarmament.

He also proposed that nations strictly follow the principle to settle international disputes peacefully and said Vietnam has taken the initiative to create a nuclear-free zone in the Southeast Asian region.

Addressing the meeting, Secretary General of the United Nations Ban Ki-moon, said more and more countries are signing and ratifying the treaty, which indicates that the CTBT is very relevant.

Ban Ki-moon called on nations to take action to enable the CTBT to take effect by 2012.

During the meeting, the leaders of many countries around the world highlighted the significance of bringing the treaty into effect. They also expressed their concerns that the world will face serious nuclear challenges if the treaty is not ratified.

So far, 182 out of 193 countries around the world have signed the CTBT and 155 have ratified it. It can only become valid when it is ratified by the US, China, the Democratic Republic of Korea, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Iran, and Israel.

Source: VOV