The trip will be made at the invitation of PM Phuc’s counterpart, Singaporean PM Lee Hsien Loong.

PM Nguyen Xuan Phuc

Founded in 1967, the ASEAN groups together Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

The ASEAN chairmanship rotates between member states alphabetically. Singapore is currently the Chair of ASEAN for 2018. Thailand will officially take over the chairmanship on January 1, 2019.

Source: VNA