In Binh Duong province, the committee decided to establish Di An and Thuan An cities, and four wards in four communes of Tan Uyen township.

NA Vice Chairman Uong Chu Luu speaks at the meeting

Seventeen provinces had the number of their communal-level administrative units reduced, including Cao Bang, Gia Lai, Hau Giang, Lai Chau, Tien Giang, Tay Ninh, Quang Ngai, Yen Bai, Bac Can, Ben Tre, Nam Dinh, Ninh Binh, Quang Nam, Quang Binh, Vinh Long, Vinh Phuc and Hai Phong city.

It was the fourth time the NA Standing Committee approved the rearrangement of administrative units of provinces nationwide.

Later the same day, the 41st meeting of the NA Standing Committee also wrapped up.

Source: VNA